John HARWOOD [1808] of Shrewsbury

4 replies [Last post]
niknak1

Hi I have been researching my family ancestry for 6 months and most roads lead to Shropshire.

John HARWOOD is my Great Great Great Grandfather, I would like to know about his Father and Mother and anything really.
What I have so far is:-

• John was a Tin Plate Worker, as was his father Thomas HARWOOD.
  • I have John's birth date as 1808, but this is only according to census records of which show him as being married to Elizabeth [nee TOWNSEND].
  • John & Elizabeth were married in Cricklade, Wiltshire [1847] and him living in Witney Oxfordshire 1851-61 censuses, before returning to Shrewsbury in 1871-81-91 censuses.[St Mary and St Julian areas of Shrewsbury].
  • I believe Elizabeth Townsend to be his second wife, as one of the censuses show a daughter Elizabeth born 1841[ Shrewsbury].
  • John's first wife may have been a Hannah PARBOTT in St Chad's 26th Jan 1833.
  • John had at least 4 children maybe more Elizabeth 1841 Shrewsbury; Ellen 1847 Cricklade; Edward 1849 Witney [great great grandfather]; Annie 1851 Witney who later moved to Shrewsbury with John.
  • I believe John died 1894 in Atcham - not sure.

So if there is anyone that can help, anything would be gratefully received.

PS My great grandfather Thomas Harwood [son of Edward] married an Ellen Ellis whose father was Richard ELLIS 1836 Ludlow who was the son of John and Anne ELLIS 1801/1802 respectively who were innkeepers of the Spread Eagle in Ludlow 1841-51 censuses.

Regards Nick   

niknak1

Hi i have just found reference to a THOMAS HARWOOD  in the 1828 pigots directory of shropshire under braziers and tin plate workers,with ref to BRIDGE STREET SHREWSBURY. Also a possible connection through  the uk register of duties paid fir apprentices indentures 1796.again SHREWSBURY SALOP THOS HARWOOD apprentice name Chas jones , Would the reference to BRIDGE STREET be a place of work or home ? regards nick

Michael J Hulme

Hello Nick